West Division

Concordia University at Austin Hardin-Simmons University Howard Payne University University of Mary Hardin-Baylor McMurry University Schreiner University Sul Ross State University Texas Lutheran University



East Division
Austin College
East Texas Baptist University
LeTourneau University
Louisiana College
Mississippi College
University of the Ozarks
University of Texas at Dallas

1221 West Campbell Road • Suite 245 • Richardson, Texas 75080 • (972) 234-0033 • Fax (972) 234-8433 www.americansouthwestconf.org

Fred Jacoby Commissioner

For Release: Wednesday, August 28, 2002

Contact: Amy Carlton, Director of Media Relations

Four American Southwest Conference Members Granted NCAA Division III Active Membership

RICHARDSON, Texas--Four members of the American Southwest Conference have been granted active membership in NCAA Division III by the national intercollegiate athletics organization, effective Sept. 1, 2002.

The ASC members granted active NCAA-III membership are <u>LeTourneau University</u> in Longview, Texas; <u>Schreiner University</u> in Kerrville, Texas; the <u>University of Texas at Dallas</u> in Richardson; and <u>Texas Lutheran University</u> in Seguin. The four new NCAA-III members gives the ASC 14 active Division III members for the 2002-03 academic year. Conference member Louisiana College (Pineville, La.) is in its final year of NCAA-III provisional membership.

"The American Southwest Conference has taken a giant step forward with 14 member institutions having full active NCAA Division III membership status," said Fred Jacoby, conference commissioner. "The ASC is the only Division III conference in the southwest region and is developing into a premier Division III conference sponsoring 16 sports championships in a broadly diversified men's and women's program."

The presidents of the new NCAA-III member schools were informed that the NCAA Division III Presidents Council approved the NCAA-III Membership Committee's recommendation that their institution be granted active membership status.

Active NCAA-III membership allows LeTourneau, Schreiner, UT Dallas and Texas Lutheran voting rights at the NCAA Annual Convention, positions on NCAA committees, coverage under the NCAA Catastrophic Athletics Injury Insurance plan and access to NCAA Championship play.

On the conference level, the four now gain entry into ASC Championships where the winner receives the league's automatic NCAA Championship berth. The schools will also be eligible to receive at-large bids into NCAA Championship play in both team and individual sports.